Greetings Earthlings!

Dear candidate,
I’m pleased to be able to inform you that you are in the final nine for HI-SEAS Mission 4! Congratulations!

…and so began my journey to another world.  So far, it’s already taken me on a training expedition in the mountains and valleys of the majestic Grand Tetons.  It’s taken me through the gut-wrenching anxiousness and anticipation of final crew selection.  And, in just a few short weeks, it’ll take me to the slopes of Mauna Loa in Hawaiʻi, where I’ll be shuttered into a dome with five other crewmates to simulate a year of isolation and exploration on the surface of Mars.

But, first things first.  Tomorrow, the HI-SEAS IV crew will be revealed to the world.  Along with the big announcement, we’ve been told that should expect to be contacted by media for interviews.

Whoa.

That’s the feeling of realization hitting me.  People I’ve never met before will suddenly know who I am, and will be interested in the things I’m doing.  Of course, I’m not expecting the rockstar levels of fame and fortune enjoyed by the likes of Steven Tyler or Mick Jagger, but, still, there are a lot of people out there interested in NASA, and what we’re doing to get people out into space and exploring the Solar System.  I’ll be honest, it’s a little bit intimidating.  However, I’m also quite excited.  You see, the journey to outer space – either real or simulated – is a journey that only a lucky few get to experience.  However, we go forth into the black representing all of humanity.  For that reason, I feel it’s my duty, as one of the lucky few, to document and report back to all of you, so that you all can share in the experience.

So, if I’ve never met you before, and you’re stopping by for the first time, I’d like to take the opportunity to say hello there, aloha, howdy, and oi mate!  I’m truly happy that you’ve decided to take some time to share in our virtual journey to another world.  Over the next few weeks, I’ll be sharing the preparations and training for our journey, and will of course share my thoughts and experiences throughout our year-long mission.

So, with apologies to Joe Satriani, welcome aboard, and enjoy the journey to simulated Mars!

Earth

– Andrzej

2 thoughts on “Greetings Earthlings!

Leave a Reply

